In Praise of the Priority Matrix

plate spinning

Not enough hours in the day?  Too much to do?  Head full to overflow?  Think the girls in the picture have it easy?

Here’s a quick tool that @mmarymckenna introduced me to to help me keep my plates spinning.

The Priority Matrix

The Priority Matrix

There is a whole industry around time management, I know, but this table plus the practice of writing a maximum 6 pointer To Do list on a fresh page in my notebook each day keeps me sane.  Ish.

About Janet Harkin

A freelance marketing consultant currently working on some interesting projects. From Cumbria but live in Donegal, NW Ireland - both equally beautiful parts of the world. I love being busy, my boys, fresh air and Led Zeppelin. I also like marketing - the strategic challenges as well as the of-the-moment campaigns.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to In Praise of the Priority Matrix

  1. Pingback: In Praise of the Priority Matrix | weeklyblogclub

  2. I’ve used the priority matrix for a few years now and have always found it a really useful way to organise myself and my work. Very helpful tool if you’re prone to procrastination too!

  3. Hai says:

    Check out the Priority Matrix app so that you can use this electronically.

  4. markbraggins says:

    I’ve done similar for some time using a 1-5 rating where 1= extremely important & 5 = trivial, together with A-E for urgency where A=emergency and E =Eventually. So top hits are anything that’s 1A and bottom of the pile are 5E.

  5. Pingback: Loss, love and bison | weeklyblogclub

  6. Hi all, Any To Do for the iPad and iPhone may be what you are after. http://anytodo.com/first-things-first/. All the best.

  7. Pingback: The evolution of time management tools (infographic) | Give it some sparkle

  8. Pingback: The evolution of time management tools (infographic) | Give it some sparkle « FE Insights

  9. Pingback: The evolution of time management tools (infographic) | J Harkin Collection

Leave a Reply

